Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Thabane reshuffles principal secretaries

Keiso Mohloboli

THE government has announced a major reshuffle of principal secretaries in a move that it says is aimed at increasing efficiency in the cabinet ministries.

The Government Secretary Moahloli Mphaka yesterday confirmed the reshuffle saying it was “part of a restructuring exercise to relocate people to where they would be more effective”.

“Yes, there was a reshuffle of principal secretaries by Prime Minister Thomas Thabane,” Mr Mphaka said.

“There are three new appointments while others have been moved from one ministry to another.

“The aim of the reshuffle is to relieve those ministries whose broad mandates require separate supervision of the various departments.”

The reshuffle, which is with effect from 18 May this year, will see the number of principal secretaries increase from 26 to 29.

The ministries of Education and Training; Public Works and Transport as well as Defence and National Security now have two principal secretaries each.

‘Mamonyane Bohloko is one of the new principal secretaries after being appointed to the foreign affairs portfolio, replacing Nkopane Monyae who has been moved to the Ministry of Police and Public Safety.

Thabo Motoko is another new appointee and he joins the Ministry of Public Works and Transport with a specific mandate to oversee the transport section of the ministry.

The incumbent, Mothabathe Hlalele, is now responsible for the Public Works section.

The third new appointment is that of Bereng Makotoko who joins the Ministry of Defence and National Security with specific mandate to oversee the National Security Service.

Meanwhile, ‘Maseithati Mabeleng was moved from the Ministry of Labour and Employment to the Prime Minister’s Office (with a mandate for Economic Affairs).

Nthoateng Lebona (ex-Finance) was moved to the ministry of Development Planning to replace Mr Khomoatsana Tau who was moved to the Energy and Meteorology ministry.

Thebe Mokoatle (ex-Trade and Industry) was transferred to Forestry, Range and Soil Conservation, replacing Mr Ntahli Matete who has been moved to Mining.

Monaphathi Maraka (formerly Health) has been moved to Tourism, Environment and Culture to replace Mrs Motena Tšolo who has been moved to Finance.

Tšeliso Mokoko (ex-Local Government) replaces Tanki Mothae at the ministry of Defence and National Security. Colonel Mothae has been transferred to Law, Constitutional Affairs and Human Rights ministry.

Mr Soaile Mochaba was moved from Mining to Trade and Industry.

Khothatso Ts’ooana has been moved Police and Public Safety to Local Government.

Advocate Mole Khumalo has been moved to Health from Law, Constitutional Affairs and Human Rights.

Thabiso Lebese (ex-Education and Training) has been appointed Higher Education principal secretary while former Energy and Meteorology principal secretary, Tieho Mamasiane has been moved to Basic Education.

The others, Malefetsane Nchaka (Agriculture), ‘Mabotle Damane (Communications), Tšeliso Lesenya (Public Service), Emmanuel Lesoma (Water Affairs), Lebohang Mochaba (Justice and Correctional Services), Malefetsane Masasa (Social Development), Tjoetsane Leoka (Gender, Youth, Sports and Recreation) ‘Machabana Letsie-Lemphane (Home Affairs) and Mr Lerata Pekane (Small Business) remained unchanged.

Dr Thabane has also reshuffled his cabinet twice in February this year.

The four party coalition government came to power in the aftermath of the 3 June 2017 snap national elections. It comprises of Dr Thabane’s All Basotho Convention, Monyane Moleleki’s Alliance of Democrats, Thesele Maseribane’s Basotho National Party and the Reformed Congress of Lesotho which is led by Keke Rantšo.

Comments are closed.