Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Provisional golf squad named

Teboho Molapo

MASERU — Lesotho national golf coach Motlalentoa Moloi has selected a preliminary squad for next year’s Zone VI International Amateur Golf Team Games in Kenya.

Moloi, who turned professional in 2004, is Lesotho’s foremost golfer.

He will mentor the side at the tournament which is contested by amateur players representing 12 countries from the Zone VI regional bloc.

Lesotho’s preliminary list includes 16 names but Moloi said he still wanted to extend it further.

The team began training at Maseru Golf Club last week.

“We have chosen a team that we are going to practice with until the tournament starts,” Moloi told the Sunday Express.

“We have about 16 names at the moment and we want to add more.”

“People who will improve their handicaps or who will perform well during tournaments and practice rounds over the coming months will be considered as well,” he added.

“The team is chosen according to ratings over the year. We want to take someone who has been performing well over a period of time.”

Lesotho finished second last at this year’s Zone VI Games in April in Botswana, despite the 6.5 points gained being the country’s best ever showing in the championship.

All players from that side, including Tsietsi Mofokeng who topped the golfer ratings in Botswana, are in Moloi’s 16-strong preliminary squad.

Only eight players will make up the team to represent Lesotho next April and Moloi said the first cull will be made in February before a final list is chosen in March.

“We will be training mostly during the week,” he said.

“In January we are going to begin training outside (of Lesotho).”

If Lesotho participates in next year’s tournament it will be the first time since 1997 and 1998 the country would have taken part in consecutive championships.

Like most sports in the country the Lesotho Golf Association (LGA) has struggled with funding.

In the last 13 years Lesotho has sent a team to the Zone VI Games on just five occasions — in 1997, 1998, 2001, 2008 and this year.


Preliminary Zone VI team:

Tsietsi Mofokeng, Jonny Lin, Thabang Khabo, Yuliang Tsai, Motlatsi Seitlheko, Tefo Ramaili, Tšoari Seitlheko, Masuhla Leteka, Kolo Libetso, Tšeliso Mokoloane, Chabeli Ralebitso, Motlatsi Seitlheko, Tlotliso Khabo, Theko Moteane, Tieho Mochebelele, Mohau Mochebelele.

Comments are closed.