Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Potloane wins top football award

Moorosi Tsiane

Linare captain Mabuti Potloane is set to be crowned 2013/14 Vodacom Premier League Player-of-the Season at a glittering ceremony scheduled for Wednesday this week at the Lesotho Sun Hotel.

According to sources privy to the awards, Potloane beat, among others, Likhopo striker Thapelo Tale, the Lioli duo of midfielder Tšoanelo Koetle and striker Tšepo Seturumane, as well as Bantu striker, Tsebang Lebata, to the top gong which carries a monetary prize of M2 000.

The selection took place on Tuesday last week, and was conducted by a panel of Premier League coaches.
In addition to the player of the season, the coaches also selected the young player of the season and goalkeeper of the season.
“Mabuti took the award and was closely contested by Thapelo Tale, Tšoanelo Koetle, Tšepo Seturumane and Tsebang Lebata.
“But at the end, the selectors felt Mabuti deserved the award after helping Linare end the season in third place on the 14-team Premier League table, and to the King’s Spectacular Challenge and TJ Glass and Aluminum tournaments.

His ability to take on players and score goals really put him head and shoulders above the rest,” said the source.
“To show he was really good, there were no Linare representatives on the panel, yet he still managed to scoop the award.”
However, the source refused to reveal the Young-Player-of-the-Season, only hinting: “It could be LCS winger, Thabo Seakhoa or Likhopo forward Tumelo Khutlang.”

The source added: “That one, I am not revealing, but what I can tell you is there was heated debate on who should win it between Seakhoa and Khutlang. I am also not revealing the goalkeeper of the season either.”

Meanwhile, all the Premier League team captains met on Wednesday last week to select the Players’ Player of the Year.
However, the Sunday Express was unable to get the name of the winner.

According to the Premier League General Manager, Baitsi Motsamai, in addition to the player-awards, the outstanding referee and assistant referees of the season, most disciplined team, and three reporters from the print and electronic media, would also be rewarded on the night.
“These awards are presented every year as a ‘thank you’ for excelling in the just-ended season.
“They are also meant to motivate others to do well the following season,” Motsamai said.

Motsamai further said teams would be presented with their prizes on the night, with the league-winners taking home M200 000, runners-up pocketing M100 000, third and fourth-placed sides raking in M80 000 and M60 000, respectively.
Teams that occupied positions five to eight would each get M40 000; nine to 12 M30 000, and 13-14 M25 000.

Comments are closed.