Home NewsLocal New senators sworn in

New senators sworn in

by webmaster
0 comment

Caswell Tlali

MASERU — Newly appointed senators were sworn into office this week.
They all swore their oaths of allegiance and faithfulness to King Letsie III during the swearing-in ceremony held in parliament on Friday.
Apart from 22 principal chiefs who are permanent senators, 11 new ones appointed by the King at the advice of the Council of State were also sworn-in.
The new senators include Chief Joang Molapo, the Basotho National Party (BNP) deputy leader who lost the May 26 national election to the Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD)’s ’Mampho Mokhele in Maputsoe constituency.
Another prominent sworn-in senator is the LCD’s deputy chairperson Mohlabi Tsekoa, former foreign affairs minister who lost the Senqu constituency to the Democratic Congress (DC)’s little known Likeleli Monare-Tampane.
The senators also consist of Dr Pinki Manamolela, an All Basotho Convention (ABC)’s women’s league president, who runs a clinic in Mohale’s Hoek.
Others who were sworn-in are the ABC’s Futho Hoohlo who pulled from contesting in Maseru Central constituency to give way for lawyer Haae Phoofolo, the incumbent Justice Minister, little known ’Malebitso Ralebitso, BNP’s Dr ’Maseoehla Ntlama a lecturer at the National University of Lesotho and Maputi Ramoholi, a Mokhotlong resident.
Other chiefs who are not permanent members of the senate were also sworn-in.
They are Chieftainess ‘Makholu ‘Mualle Moshoeshoe, Ward Chief of Likueneng, Chief Qajela Lebona of Thaba-Tšoeu, Chieftainess ‘Mantoetse Lesaoana Peete, former principal chief of Kueneng and Chief Sempe Lejaha, former President of the Senate.
The Senate comprise of 33 members, 22 of them are Principal Chiefs while eleven are appointed by the King based on their skills and knowledge.
The Senate objective is to strengthen good governance and the principles of democracy by ensuring that laws that are made contribute towards developing and improving livelihoods of Basotho and Lesotho.
The Senate also scrutinises Bills coming from the National Assembly before they can be turned into law.
New ministers selected from the new senators will be sworn-in at the Royal Palace tomorrow.
The ministers will fill in vacancies in the health, home affairs and foreign affairs ministries.
It is also expected that deputy ministers will be sworn-in tomorrow.

You may also like

Sunday Express

Lesotho’s widely read newspaper. Published every Sunday.

More News

Laest News

@2024 – Sunday Express. All Rights Reserved.