Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

League boss seeks re-election

Mikia Kalati

MASERU — Lioli president Lebohang Thotanyana is seeking re-election as chairman of the Lesotho Premier League in today’s election set for Bambatha Tšita Sports Arena.
Thotanyana was elected premier league chairman in August.
Former boss, Tlholo Letete could not stand for re-election after his team, Mphatlalatsane, were relegated from the premier league in the 2010-11 season.
“We have done very well since we took over the premier league office last year, it’s only fair that we be allowed to continue working and improve the standard of football in the country,” Thotanyana said.
“We started on a high note just months after our appointment and helped several premier league clubs secure technical sponsorship.
“There is no doubt that there has been an improvement in the league in the past season, and more companies are now willing to come on board and invest in football,” he said.
Thotanyana told the Sunday Express that their biggest challenge is working towards the Mohale declaration roadmap of turning the league professional by 2014.
“We must first get our house in order and do all that is required to be professionals,” he said.
He said part of their plans to improve the league will be hiring a full-time administrator to deal with the requirements of their office.
Thotanyana added: “We want to have a football administrator who will run the premier league office on a daily basis and help us get sponsorships for both the league and cup competitions.”
“We have already secured office equipment sponsorship for such a position and all that is left is for Lefa to give the green light for that position,” he said.
He said they had already tabled their wish to Lefa as they want to introduce changes that will help improve their structures.
Vice-chairman, Leuta Leuta, is also seeking re-election in the same capacity, while almost all of the current premier league management committee members have submitted their candidatures to stand in today’s election.

Comments are closed.