Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

LDF for COSAFA Championship


Leemisa Thuseho

THE Lesotho Football Association (LeFA) has confirmed enrolling the LDF Ladies’ team for the COSAFA Women’s Champions League.

The competition is expected to be held either in July or August 2021.

A Thursday statement from LeFA confirmed the enrolment.

“LeFA informs the football fraternity that it had a fruitful meeting with the management of LDF Ladies FC to map the way forward regarding their enrollment in the upcoming COSAFA Women’s Championship,” the statement reads.

“The enrolment is historic given that that the tournament is the first of its kind on the African continent and as such, both LeFA and LDF have made history.”

LDF qualified for the debut tournament being the holders of the Women Supper League (WSL) championship for the fourth time in a row under the guidance of Lehloenya Nkhasi.

COSAFA last also confirmed that there will be eight clubs competing in the inaugural tournament. It said the dates and the venue of the tournament will be finalised once discussions have been held with stakeholders.

The tournament will serve as the qualifier for the debut CAF Women’s Champions League which is also scheduled to take place later this year.

The other seven teams are Prisons XI (Botswana), Costa Do Sol (Mozambique), Tura Magic FC (Namibia), Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), Manzini Wanderers (eSwarini), Green Buffaloes Women (Zambia) and Black Rhino Queens (Zimbabwe).

The COSAFA Women’s Champions League format will see the eight sides being split into two groups of four, playing a minimum of three games. The top two teams in each pool will advance to the semi-finals.

The CAF Women’s Champions League will be contested by eight teams in two groups of four. Each of the six CAF zones – north zone, zone west A, zone west B, central zone, central-east zone and southern zone – will host qualifiers to decide who will represent the region. The six winners, along with a team from the host nation, and an additional club, will make up the eight representatives.



Comments are closed.