Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

ABC, DC almost neck and neck

By Bongiwe Zihlangu

MASERU – The opposition All Basotho Convention (ABC)’s lead has been whittled down to just one seat with results in 16 constituencies still outstanding.
The ABC has picked two more seats in the last batch of seven results announced this morning.
That brings its total so far to 26.
Prime Minister Pakalitha Mosisili’s Democratic Congress has picked up five more seats to bring its total to 25 while the former ruling Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD) is still stuck with 12 seats.
The smaller opposition Popular Front for Democracy (PFD) party is in fourth place with a single seat.
DC leader Mosisili won the Tsoelike constituency in Qacha’s Nek with 5 213 votes against the LCD’s Morolo Phooko who got 328 votes.
LCD leader Mothetjoa Metsing won the Mahobong constituency with 5 020 votes. The DC’s Tau Khomoatsana got 2 072 votes while the ABC’s Matsoso Sebatli got 1 185 votes.
In Kolonyame constituency, the DC secretary general Ralechete ‘Mokose lost to the LCD’s Maloi Lebesa. ‘Mokose could only garner 1 845 votes against Lebesa’s 2 336 votes.
The ABC came a distant third with 1 466 votes.
Top lawyer Haae Phoofolo won the Maseru Central constituency seat with 1 983 votes with the LCD’s ‘Mamoruti Malie winning 1 125 votes.
The DC’s Ramahooana Matlosa could only get 948 votes while the BNP’s Hosana Sako got 259 votes.
ABC leader Thomas Thabane won the Ha Abia constituency with a massive 4 472 votes against the LCD’s Mafako Moletse who got 1 089 votes.
The DC’s Molebatse Mahata received 973 votes.
In Hlotse, deputy Home Affairs Minister Lineo Molise lost to the LCD’s Mathabelo Mosothoane.
Mosothoane got 4 506 votes against Molise’s 2 265 votes.
Monyane Moleleki won the Machache constituency with 4 908 votes, while the ABC’s Makotoko Moliboba won 1 772 votes. The LCD’s Masakhale Veronica got 524 votes.
The Sunday Express website will continue to update the results as they come.

Comments are closed.